Why I Need Cheat Meals

I wish I was one of those people who was blessed with thinking that desserts are “too sugary” or that they “can’t handle too many sweets”. I can easily DESTROY an entire assortment of chocolates in one sitting. I LOVE unhealthy food. But you know what I don’t love? Being unhealthy, gaining weight and the physical side effects of eating food that is not good for me.

Unfortunately Reese’s peanut butter cups and doughnuts make us gain weight, and salad and chicken make us skinnier. This is why most of my blog is focused on healthy recipes that actually taste good! But once a week I allow myself to have a cheat meal where I can satisfy my sweet tooth/ salt craving/ anything craving.

No I do not have the discipline that some have to avoid unhealthy foods entirely until they reach their fitness goals. I wish I did but unfortunately that’s just not me. While others eat to live, I live to eat. Sometimes I think that if I didn’t have a cheat meal to look forward to I wouldn’t survive. As funny as it sounds, I actually look forward to the moment I can bite into a cheeseburger or doughnut for the entire week.

Having a cheat meal also makes me much more selective about what I will use as my cheat since I only get one a week. I have my meal planned out and don’t want to waste it. “Someone brought in cupcakes at work today? Nah I’m not wasting my cheat meal, I need it for the chimichangas and margaritas I’m about to have with my friends tomorrow night.” 

Everything is good in moderation. Having one cheat meal a week can actually help you to keep course on your diet. While staying discipline with my diet, I also want to be realistic. Not knowing the next time I can have something tasty that I love makes me feel hopeless and causes me to lose my mojo and desire to eat healthy.

I try to follow the 80/20 rule. 80% of the time I eat healthy and I’m mindful of what I’m putting into my body and 20% of the time I eat… not so healthy. This ratio works itself out to be about 1 unhealthy meal a week, give or take a snack or two.

With a cheat meal it helps to keep me going while at the same time not knocking me completely off course. For any of us who have extreme dieted before we all know that depriving ourselves just to try to look good SUCKS. Don’t torture yourself by never having a candy bar again.

Just do your best! And lastly please eat well because you love your body and want to treat it kindly not because you hate your body and want to punish it. Love your body and be good to it and the results will come!

 

 

 

One thought on “Why I Need Cheat Meals

Add yours

  1. I relate to this post sooo much! I have the biggest sweet tooth ever but I always make sure my cheat meals count! I eat everything in moderation but if I know I’m having a big fun dinner one night, I’ll lighten up the rest of my day. People talk about how it just gets easier to eat healthy and you crave those foods instead of more fattening foods, and I think “No, you just get better and planning your foods, and understand balance.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

