Weightlifting Doesn’t Make Women Manly… It Makes Women Sexy

img_0160There are a lot of stigmas that come with weightlifting. One of the main ones being: weightlifting is not perceived as “feminine”. A lot of girls who are curious about trying it or CrossFit often reach out and ask me about trying it. Their comments are less than thrilling.

img_0243“Aren’t you nervous you’ll get bulky?”

“Can I do it but not do heavy weights? Because I don’t want to get too big.”

“I’d love to try it but I don’t want to look manly.”

“Weightlifting is for guys though.”

Let me make this as clear as I can for any girls out there reading this and thinking about picking up some weights: WEIGHTLIFTING DOES NOT MAKE YOU MANLY. PERIOD. END OF STORY.

For some reason a lot of women have this false idea that if they pick up a barbell all of a sudden they will develop ginormous muscles and no longer be able to fit into any of their clothes and start growing a beard.

img_0112Take it from me: when I started Crossfit I had never lifted weights before in my life. I was also 20 pounds overweight and had a beer belly (I loved college a little bit too much). Weightlifting does not make you big- for me it actually made me shrink in size. I lost many inches off my waist, my legs got smaller and more defined and I dropped a ton of fat.

Let’s get scientific here: muscle eats fat. Therefore lifting weights and building muscle will eat the fat away from your body. It will not make you bulky, big, masculine or whatever preconceived idea that you are afraid of.

Another myth: that weightlifting will make you manly. Having a cut physique and a nice squat booty will make you quite the opposite of manly actually. Do a squat cycle then ask your boyfriend if he thinks your fantastic posterior is manly. I’m pretty sure he will only have positive feedback.

And if you have a man who thinks a few muscles are intimidating then you need a new man because only insecure men are intimidated by strong women. That is not something anyone should want in a man. Strong women scare weak men.

img_0270

Do yourself a favor: try it. What do you have to lose? Once you start weightlifting you’ll care less about what you look like and more about trying to prove yourself wrong and push your limits further than you ever thought you could. Instead of caring about remaining “feminine” you’ll care more about hitting a PR and adding on that extra ten pounds.

Society and the media today have pounded into our heads that we need to look a certain way, be a certain weight and have a certain body type to be considered “beautiful”. Who are they to determine what defines beauty and femininity? We define ourselves and what beauty and femininity means to us. To me, strength is beautiful. Confidence is beautiful. Weightlifting gives me both of those things.

Weightlifting is a healthy addiction and if you give it a try I can assure you that you will be happy with the mental and physical results. Just look at the pictures of my friends in this blog post! Confident, strong women doing their thang- that is true beauty!

img_0222

9 thoughts on “Weightlifting Doesn’t Make Women Manly… It Makes Women Sexy

Add yours

  1. preach! great post – its crazy though, the stigma is real – i weight-lift too & most days I’m the only female amongst 20 other guys working out at the same time – I’m like, where are the women?!!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this awesome post!! I grew up in an asian culture where girls lifting weights was the most outrageous idea ever. It was looked down upon. So when I did try out crossfit (have been doing it for 3 years now) I realize how much better I feel! I love it and can’t live without it. I have heard sooo many of those comments said to me and still hear them (mostly asian ladies) but then I realize they dont define my happiness. So thank you for this post because i can definitely relate to it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

